Regional Events

New Zealand Post Primary Teachers' Association / Te Wehengarua (PPTA) regions events and meetings webpages.

pptaweb icon PPTA Mahi Tika (Employment relations courses) information

icon Mahi Tika flyer

icon Mahi Tika dates 2015

Download pdf Mahi Tika (Employment Related Education) calendar 2015

Link to PPTA webpage PPTA regions (includes map download)

Download pdf PPTA handbook for elected officers'

Link to PPTA webpage Regional contact details (requires log-in)


Plaudits for Pukekohe branch chair

Pukekohe High School PPTA branch chairperson Mark Goddard is this year’s recipient of the association’s Guy Allan Award for outstanding branch activism.

Mark Goddard Guy Allan Award 2015PPTA president Angela Roberts presented the award to Mark at a special function held at the branch in his honour. “We’re really thrilled to be able to honour Mark’s dedication to Pukekohe High School members in this way,” she said.

“Over the past 10 years as branch chair, Mark has worked tirelessly to support members – from communicating and clarifying the big issues that confront us as a union to offering knowledge and sound advice about day-to-day employment challenges.”

Former Pukekohe High School branch chairperson John Murdie said Mark had been a significant presence in PPTA, initially at Auckland Teachers Training College and for all of his time at Pukekohe High School since he started teaching there in 1988.

“Mark has worked through many issues, particularly the higher profile cases such as pay and conditions negotiations, through to lower profile, but still important, individual queries and concerns,” he said.

“He was heavily involved with many teaching colleagues in the complex issues and difficult situations arising from the G3 dispute regarding salary and status recognition. He is active and forceful in presenting PPTA matters at staff meetings and appropriate forums.”

John said staff had found Mark approachable and sensitive in dealing with many issues that arose over the years.

“He is respected for his under- standing, support and advice given to many staff members.”

PPTA established the Guy Allan award in 2005 to recognise outstanding branch activism in the Counties-Manukau and Auckland regions. The award commemorates the late Guy Allan - a former PPTA branch chair and an Auckland-based field officer who was renowned for his commitment to unionism and branch activism.


icon PPTA News March 2015 (volume 36 no. 2)



2015 Issues & Organising Seminar

IOlogo iconThe PPTA Delegate Leadership Development training and the PPTA Issues and Organising Seminar were held in Wellington from Friday 6 March to Sunday 8 March 2015.

icon The issues that mattered: Explaining the 2014 NZ general election (4.21 MB)

icon Advice to the New Government 2014

icon Delegate Leadership Development Workshop & Issues and Organising Seminar 2015 programme 




We stand for education banner


Share this page: