Pasifika Teachers

PPTA Te Wehengarua recognises the particular needs of Pacific Island teachers and students, and is committed to the promotion of policies and programmes to address their professional, industrial and cultural issues. This work is co-ordinated regionally through local Pasifika networks and Regional Pasifika coordinators and nationally through PPTA's Komiti Pasifika

Komiti Pasifika representatives 2019

Komiti Pasifika meet regularly, have a representative on the PPTA National Executive and are happy to hear from members and raise any issues or queries from members for discussion at meetings.

The Komiti Pasifika members are:

Natalie Faitala

Wesley College

Area 1 / Executive

Alvin Chand 

James Cook High School

Area 1

Tai Tarai

Tokoroa High School

Area 1

Angela Maisiri

Southern Cross Campus Area 1
Sanjay Naidu Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu, Auckland

Area 1

AJ Jyotika William Colenso College, Napier Area 2

Kijiana Pene

Whanganui Girls’ College

Area 2




Doug Clark

PPTA advisory officer



Area 1 includes the following regions: Upper Central & Lower Northland, Auckland, Counties Manukau, Waikato, Central Plateau, Hauraki Coromandel, Bay of Plenty, Western Bay of Plenty, Taranaki and East Coast.

Area 2 includes the following regions: Hawkes Bay, Manawatu-Wanganui, Wairarapa, Wellington, Hutt Valley, Nelson, Marlborough, West Coast, Canterbury, Aoraki, Otago and Southland.



Tai Tarai

View expanded page

Last modified on Tuesday, 11 June 2019 15:51