How PPTA is organised: structures

PPTA / Te Wehengarua supports teachers through local, regional and national structures and networks.

The Communities pages are where you will find out more about our networks.

Branches (schools)

There is a PPTA branch in each school, making the branch the most immediate and significant level of involvement for most members.

17,000 members in 560 branches (schools).
Each branch is autonomous.
Many branches are now led by an elected collective of branch officials, among whom tasks are shared out as they arise.
A branch receives funds from their region.

The effective performance of branch officers is crucial to ensure that the Association receives accurate and clear messages about what is happening in schools and what members want, and for members to receive the information and assistance in their working lives to which they are entitled.


PPTA branches are divided into 24 regions throughout New Zealand. Regions are autonomous and led by elected regional officers: chairperson, secretary, treasurer, women's co-ordinator, te reo-a-rohe and Pasifika co-ordinators.

Each region is responsible for:

  • forming links between the branches in its area and links between its branches and the Executive;
  • discussing matters referred to it by the Executive;
  • considering remits from its branches and forwarding such remits to the Executive if approved by the regional organisation;
  • appointing representatives to attend annual and special conferences;
  • originating discussion on matters concerned with education in general and with secondary education in particular;
  • controlling regional finances;
  • supplying to the Executive before 31 May each year a report on its activities for the previous year.


The PPTA executive is the governing body of the association and is made up of members elected from the 24 regions, plus Māori and Pasifika representatives. Members also elect the PPTA president and vice-president. 


Jack Boyle Sacred Heart College

Senior Vice President

Angela Roberts Stratford High School

Junior Vice President

Melanie Webber Western Springs College


Te Whare Turuwhenua

Kaitautoko (Te Huarahi)

Gazala Maihi

Executive members

Te Huarahi Māori Motuhake:

Henare Hutana Te Aute College,

Miriama Barton Hamilton Boys’ High School,

Wiki Te Tau Reliever

Komiti Pasifika:

Natalie Faitala Wesley College


Miles Winter Mountainview High School


Kylee Houpapa (Southern) Auckland Girls’ Grammar School

Lawrence Mikkelsen (Eastern) Selwyn College

Austen Pageau (Northern) Birkenhead College

Melanie Webber (Western) Western Springs College

Bay of Plenty/Central Plateau: Glenn Cassidy Tokoroa High School

Canterbury: Jacinta Grice Hillmorton High School, and Jonathan Handley-Packham Hornby High School

Counties-Manukau: Rodger Barlow Pukekohe High School

Hawkes Bay/East Coast: Lisa Larwood Flaxmere College

Hutt Valley/Wairarapa: Chris Carr Hutt Valley High School

Manawatu-Whanganui: Rob Torr Wanganui Collegiate School

Nelson/West Coast: Ellen Curnow Buller High School

Northland: Graham Sharp Okaihau College

Otago: Joe Hunter Otago Girls’ High School

Southland: Chris Abercrombie James Hargest College

Taranaki: Simon Reid Opunake High School

Thames Valley/Western Bay of Plenty: Graeme Bridge Aquinas College

Waikato: Vinnie Monga Fairfield College

Wellington/Marlborough: Kevin Greig Aotea College, and Graham Smith Marlborough Boys’ College

Te Huarahi Māori Motuhake

Te Huarahi's role is to advise Mäori members and to act as a channel for their concerns; to consider and represent those concerns to Executive; and liaise with Mäori members, particularly the regional Te Reo-ä-Rohe network. Te Huarahi has responsibility for making decisions which impact on Mäori members.

Te Huarahi is the national Mäori body elected on an iwi geographical basis by Maori members of the Association (Rule 75). Te Huarahi annually elects three of its current members to serve on the national Executive.

Where Executive or Te Huarahi wishes to resolve a question about Ngä Take Māori, a group consisting of Te Huarahi's representatives and an equal number of Executive members meet to find an appropriate solution.


Members of Te Huarahi are elected by members on PPTA's Mäori electoral roll to represent the following tribal areas: Taitokerau, Tamaki Makaurau, Waikato, Mataatua/Te Arawa, Tai Rawhiti, Taranaki/Whanganui, Horowhenua/Manawatu, Ngati Kahungunu, Whanganui-a-tara, Otepoti/Murihiku, Waitaha, Te Tau Ihu o Te Waka a Maui.

Kaumatua and Whaea

The Kaumätua and Whaea are chosen by Te Huarahi to assist and support Association matters and are entitled to participate in all aspects of the Association.


Contact Te Huarahi on

Te Huarahi Māori Motuhake 2018-2019

Kaumatua - Henare Hutana

Whaea - Gazala Maihi

Whaea Tautoko - Tihi Puanaki

Tai Tokerau (1 member)
Richard Amaroa – Dargaville High School

Tamaki Makaurau (3 members)
Johnny Waititi – Westlake Boys’ High School
Vincent Hapi – Wesley College
Powhiri Rika-Heke – Alfriston College

Waikato (1 member)
Miriama Barton – Hamilton Boys’ High School

Mataatua (1 vacancy)

Te Arawa (1 member)
Hemi Ferris-Bretherton – Te Kura o Hirangi

Tairawhiti (shared role)
Trish Tangaroa – Gisborne Girls High School
Noeline Terere – Lytton High School

Horowhenua/Manawatu (1 member)
Zeb Nicklin- Awatapu College

Ngati Kahungunu (1 member)
Henare Hutana – Te Aute College

Whanganui-ā-Tara ki Ōtaki (1 vacancy)

Otepoti/Murihiku (1 members / 1 vacancy)
Wiki Te Tau - Reliever

Waitaha (1 vacancy)


PPTA service awards

The annual PPTA Service Awards are designed to recognise significant contributions members or former members have made to fellow members and the Association through their activism, leadership and commitment in their service to the association

Award candidates must be nominated by at least two other current full members.


View expanded page

Last modified on Friday, 26 May 2017 09:50