How PPTA is organised: Structures

PPTA / Te Wehengarua supports teachers through local, regional and national structures and networks.

The Communities pages are where you will find out more about our networks.

Branches (schools)

There is a PPTA branch in each school, making the branch the most immediate and significant level of involvement for most members.

17,000 members in 560 branches (schools).
Each branch is autonomous.
Many branches are now led by an elected collective of branch officials, among whom tasks are shared out as they arise.
A branch receives funds from their region.

The effective performance of branch officers is crucial to ensure that the Association receives accurate and clear messages about what is happening in schools and what members want, and for members to receive the information and assistance in their working lives to which they are entitled.


PPTA branches are divided into 24 regions throughout New Zealand. Regions are autonomous and led by elected regional officers: chairperson, secretary, treasurer, women's co-ordinator, te reo-a-rohe and Pasifika co-ordinators.

Each region is responsible for:

  • forming links between the branches in its area and links between its branches and the Executive;
  • discussing matters referred to it by the Executive;
  • considering remits from its branches and forwarding such remits to the Executive if approved by the regional organisation;
  • appointing representatives to attend annual and special conferences;
  • originating discussion on matters concerned with education in general and with secondary education in particular;
  • controlling regional finances;
  • supplying to the Executive before 31 May each year a report on its activities for the previous year.


The PPTA executive is the governing body of the association and is made up of members elected from the 24 regions, plus Māori and Pasifika representatives. Members also elect the PPTA president and vice-president. 


Chris Abercrombie

Junior Vice President

Kieran Gainsford One Tree Hill College*

Māori Vice President

Te Aomihia Taua-Glassie Tikipunga High School*

Senior Vice President

Melanie Webber*


Moeke Paaka**

Kaitautoko (Te Huarahi)

Gazala Maihi** Whaea

Te Huarahi Māori Motuhake:

Faith Tautuhi Waikato Diocesan School For Girls

Anthony Urwin* Aotea College

Hemi Ferris-Bretherton - Te Kura o Hirangi

Komiti Pasifika:

Angela Maisiri Southern Cross Campus

NZ Secondary Principals’ Council Chairperson:

Kate Gainsford Aotea College**

Aoraki: Emma Setterfield* Waimate High School


Lawrence Mikkelsen (Eastern) Selwyn College

Austen Pageau (Northern) Birkenhead College

Karl Goddard (Western) Massey High School

Shontelle Helg (Southern) Ormiston Junior College

Bay of Plenty/Central Plateau: Robert McCafferty Western Heights High School

Canterbury: Jacinta Grice Hillmorton High School, and Bernie Lee St Thomas of Canterbury College 

Counties-Manukau: Natalie Faitala Wesley College*

Hauraki Coromandel/Western Bay of Plenty: Tania Rae* Mt Maunganui College

Hawkes Bay/East Coast: Amanda Moys Havelock North High School

Hutt Valley/Wairarapa: Shannon-Mae Read Upper Hutt College

Manawatu-Whanganui: Rebecca Hopper Palmerston North Girls' High School

Nelson/West Coast: Michael Waller* Westland High School

Northland: Isabel Rangiwananga Mahurangi College

Otago: Joe Hunter* Otago Girls’ High School

Southland: Luke Nickholds Southland Girls' High School

Taranaki: Carl Rushton New Plymouth Boys' High School

Waikato: Vinnie Monga Fairfield College

Wellington/Marlborough: Cameron Stewart Onslow College and Simon Curnow Marlborough Girls' College

*   Management Committee member

** Not members of the Executive but entitled to attend meetings and receive Executive circulars

Te Huarahi Māori Motuhake

Te Huarahi's role is to advise Māori members and to act as a channel for their concerns; to consider and represent those concerns to Executive; and liaise with Māori members, particularly the regional Te Reo-ā-Rohe network. Te Huarahi has the responsibility for making decisions that impact Māori members.

Te Huarahi is the national Māori body elected on an iwi geographical basis by Māori members of the Association (Rule 75). Te Huarahi annually elects three of its current members to serve on the National Executive.

Where Executive or Te Huarahi wishes to resolve a question about Ngā Take Māori, a group consisting of Te Huarahi's representatives and an equal number of Executive members meet to find an appropriate solution as Te Rōpū Matua.


Members of Te Huarahi are elected by members on PPTA's Māori electoral roll to represent the following tribal areas: Tai Tokerau, Tāmaki Makaurau, Waikato, Mataatua, Te Arawa, Tai Rāwhiti, Taranaki, Whānganui, Horowhenua / Manawatu, Ngāti Kahungunu, Whanganui-a-Tara ki Ōtaki, Ōtepoti / Murihiku, Waitaha, Te Tau Ihu o Te Waka a Māui.

Kaumātua and Whaea

The Kaumātua and Whaea are chosen by Te Huarahi to assist and support Association matters and are entitled to participate in all aspects of the Association.


Te Huarahi Māori Motuhake

Te Hāpai-Ō: Te Aomihia Taua-Glassie

Kaumātua: Moeke Paaka 

Whaea: Gazala Maihi

Whaea Kaitautoko: Tihi Puanaki

Manu Tātariki (Honorary Member) :

Tai Tokerau: Emma Afa

Tāmaki Makaurau:

Vincent Hapi, Reliever

Shanna Rope, One Tree Hill College

Tina Peters - Takapuna Grammar School

Waikato:Faith Tautuhi Waikato Diocesan School for Girls

Mātaatua: Poihaere Knight, Trident High School

Te Arawa: Hemi Ferris-Bretherton, Te Kura o Hirangi 

Tai RāwhitiIrihapeti Nepe-Macdonald  

Ngāti KahungunuKath HawaikirangiTe Kura Kaupapa Maori o Te Wananga Whare Tapere o Takitimu 

Awakāirangi/Wairarapa: Simon Hirini, Taita College

Taranaki: John Edmonds, New Plymouth Boys' High School

Whanganui: 1 Vacancy

Horowhenua / Manawatū: Patty Robinson, Freyberg High School

Whanganui-ā-Tara ki Ōtaki: Anthony Urwin, Aotea College

Te Tau Ihu o te Waka a Māui: Matthew Penney, Nayland College

Waitaha: Marcelle Leo'o, St Thomas of Canterbury College

Ōtepoti / Murihiku:

Josephine Clarke-Kaio, Te Wharekura o Arowhenua

1 Vacancy

PPTA field officer: Daniel Hapuku

Kaihautū Māori: Miriama Barton


PPTA service awards

The annual PPTA Service Awards are designed to recognise significant contributions members or former members have made to fellow members and the Association through their activism, leadership and commitment in their service to the association

Award candidates must be nominated by at least two other current full members.


Te Roopū Matua

Te Roopū Matua is the PPTA’s Treaty Partnership Roopu made up of equal members of PPTA executive and Te Huarahi members. They meet on equal terms to talk about relationships between the Treaty parties in the PPTA including issues that may arise and such things.

Recently, Te Roopū Matua assisted the PPTA on constitutional matters concerning the right of regions to include the traditional Māori name of their region in the constitution alongside the English one.

Current members (click any name to send an email):

Chris Abercrombie– PPTA president

Jacinta Grice - PPTA Executive

Vinnie Monga – PPTA executive

Patty Robinson – Te Huarahi

Te Aomihia Taua-Glassie - Māori Vice President

Anthony Urwin - Te Huarahi

Moeke Paaka – Kaumatua

Gazala Maihi – Whaea

Kirsty Farrant - General Secretary

Vancany – Executive

View expanded page

Last modified on Wednesday, 17 May 2023 09:06